London-Lisbon day 10

The final day, and what a tight one!

4 regularities and four tests. The second one caught us, and many others, out at an ambiguous junction. This cost 41 seconds plus the final control on the section was round a very tight turn and step up to the marshal; another 10 seconds. We had hoped to catch the Porsche in front of us and were relieved to find they too had made the same mistake!

After the regs and the first 2 tests we were 12 seconds in front of the Porsche but we knew we were likely to get 6 seconds on each on the final two with the Porsche connecting no penalties. Michael drove brilliantly and we managed to pip the Porsche to 11th place overall retaining our 3rd in class.

After 3224km, 54 regs, and 196 timing points the conclusion is that this was a very special event. Well done to all the organisers and their teams for doing such a fantastic job. I can’t wait until the next one!!!

About James Ewing

Cars are my passion in my business and private life. I run James Ewing Limited - International Brokers of Collectors Cars and I also have a successful restoration business. I navigate on classic rallies in the UK and europe and in my time have competed in many types of motorsport. At home we have an interesting collection of micro/mini cars, a 1958 Renault 4cv, 1962 Fiat 600d Multipla and a 1967 Subaru 360. All in all I spend most of my time 'dickingaroundwitholdcars'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment