Three Castles day 3

Another early start for the ‘shortest’ day…10 tests and three regularities in 129 miles, full on rallying.

Starting immediately with tests on the Great Orme, a precipitous steep climb and descent, exciting stuff with some navigator handbrake assistance!


This we did twice and then four more tests before a break in the Kinmel arms.


Kinmel park start and test instructions.

Three back to back regularities and another test through some spectacular countryside brought us to the Groes Inn (Wales’ oldest pub) for lunch.



A quick run back to The Orme for the finale, a long 2 mile test over the mound back to Llandudno Promenade for the finish, sadly this was shortened due to a broken car mid test but that didn’t matter as it was great fun!


There are no results yet and it’s too close to call as we are in a battle with three other cars in our class with only 5 seconds covering us all.


I found this poor lonely Alfa 8C on the prom, I thought I might give it a new home!

About James Ewing

Cars are my passion in my business and private life. I run James Ewing Limited - International Brokers of Collectors Cars and I also have a successful restoration business. I navigate on classic rallies in the UK and europe and in my time have competed in many types of motorsport. At home we have an interesting collection of micro/mini cars, a 1958 Renault 4cv, 1962 Fiat 600d Multipla and a 1967 Subaru 360. All in all I spend most of my time 'dickingaroundwitholdcars'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Three Castles day 3

  1. Looks like a great event, although going from the pub to pub isn’t that competitive, surely? As for giving an Alfa 8C a home, that’s fairly major theft – although very kind! Been to Goodwood today, mega cars there including a couple of Fulvias which would have been nice on your event.

Leave a comment